top of page

Learning Lessons


It may have taken me until the age of 28, but I've learnt more about myself in the last 10 months than ever before.

I moved to Townsville, an ambitious woman who was ready to begin the next chapter of her life. I had little fear about moving so far away, which surprised even me but I still had niggling voices in my head telling me I was an idiot for thinking I could do it all on my own.

Fast forward just under a year and I know I'm a completely different person to who I was when I arrived. For the first time in a long time, I feel stable. I feel in control. I feel mentally healthy. But, I have worked my ass off to get to this point. There's been tears galore and painful memories pushed to the surface but they were the things that were holding me back.

About two months ago, I took a leap of faith and decided to enrol in a life coaching course. It was scary, confronting and everything I never thought it would be. At first, I was skeptical. How ridiculous to think that habits and issues i'd had my whole life, could change in 8 weeks. They didn't. Not completely anyway.. but it's something I can work on for the rest of my life and I've begun that journey.

Instead of using the pain, the fear and the hurt to continue self sabotaging myself- I realised the only way I was going to succeed was to go back and find those moments and change my perception of them.

I believe we all have a life path that's set out for us. We can change that with how hard we work and what we truly believe in, but things happen because it's going to teach us a lesson we needed to learn. I didn't go to uni until later in life, because to move up to Queensland on my own, I needed to be older, I needed to be ready to settle down, I needed to be strong enough to deal with a full time career and the ups and downs of being in the media that brings. I know if I had done this in my early twenties, I would not have been strong enough to stick it out. I would have continued living as if every tiny thing was a drama and it would take over my life, as everything used to in my early twenties.

I'm 3 weeks away from setting off to Cairns, to begin my new role. Although it feels scary starting all over again, finding my feet, making new friends and moving in quickly with a boyfriend who has made me believe I'm worthy of being loved, it's also the most exciting feeling in the world.

I may not shake the world. I may not end up on front pages of magazines or newspapers or on your T.V screen but I know that this is just the next lesson to learn. This is the next step in my piece of the puzzle. I want to use my writing, my knowledge and my position to change my world, and hopefully yours one day too.

Hard work, determination and the right frame of mind will get you anything you want. I might get called a hippie.. I might fall flat on my face, but I know that from now, I'm comfortable with who I am, what I do and I know that when that happens.. there's not too much that can break you.

bottom of page