top of page

But you don't look sick....

On the outside... you look like a perfect human being.

On the inside... you're silently trying to beat a disease that no one understands and doctors continue to missdiagnose.

Auto- immune, thyroid issues, gut health issues, microbial issues, PCOS, insulin resistance.. the list goes on.

Thousands of women around the world are searching the internet on a daily basis for help. They may be able to get up each day and function through work, through looking after the kids, through a workout at the gym, through a social night out with friends, but deep down they know something isn't quite right.

They're tired, their stomach hurts, it bloats, they can't lose weight no matter what they do, they have no idea what to eat, they can't open their eyes in the morning and they can't get to sleep at night. They suffer from depression, anxiety, stomach issues, hot flushes, weight gain and they continuously worry about what's wrong with them because they don't think they're a normal, healthy looking woman.

At 25 I was told that if I continued the lifestyle i was leading, I'd have chronic fatigue or I'd have a heart attack by the age of 40. I was working in hospitality, working stupid hours, doing 16 hour days.. but god did I party just as hard. I was a stress head. Every little thing was a drama and I thought I thrived on it.

With my body literally starting to shut down, something had to change.. drastically.

I guess that's when my own journey started. Like so many other women, I went to countless doctors appointments, spent thousands on pills, diet plans and trying to work out how at such a young age I'd nearly ruined the one body I'd been given.

So, three years later, it continues. I may feel good. I go to bed and fall asleep within 20 minutes instead of 5 hours. I get up in the morning at 3:30 for work and don't need 5 cups of coffee to get through my shift. My depression and anxiety is pretty much non- existent and I can get through a PT session without needing to come home and sleep for 3 hours afterwards.

But... there's still not something quite right.

I go to the gym 4 to 5 times a week. I eat a predominantly healthy diet. I meditate. I de-stress every chance I get. I do all the things that the books say but my weight remains the same.

For most women, if they feel good, then that is enough for them- which it should be. If you feel strong, healthy, sexy then life should be amazing.

For me- I'm still embarrassed to look in the mirror. I won't take my clothes off in front of my boyfriend, who looks at me like I'm the greatest woman in the world and I hardly jump in photos because in my head I know I'll just look fat.

I hate that word. I hope my daughter one day, never has to hear it.

So back to my clinical nutritionist I go. Armed with more information. More motivation to sort out what's going on in my body and a renewed desire to want to help the other thousands of women out there who feel just like me.

We are what we eat. But we are also what microbes are in our gut. There's something not quite right in mine and I really do hope a tweak to my diet and stand in the mirror and feel like I look like the strong, healthy and gorgeous woman I know is in there someone.

Ask questions. Research. Don't let a doctor tell you, you have to take a pill for the rest of your life. It might take a while and it might be hard but you have to choose your hard. We have created many of these auto immune issues because of our lifestyle and poor diet choices- we can reverse it too.

A x

bottom of page